October’s Single of the Month Comes Out Saturday

My love of the Mud City Manglers is no secret: At this point I have been a die hard fan for over half of my life. The Manglers were one of the first local (Pittsburgh for all you out of towners) bands that grabbed me in this way that I can’t really explain. In a dank basement on Neville St, which smelled like spilled beer and failure, I saw them play a brand of Rock and Roll that was all new to me. It was Punk, but it wasn’t punk. It was Rock, but it wasn’t rock. It was a stripped down, high powered Rock and Roll that moved so fast that it made time stop. I knew right then and there that it was the real thing, and I was hooked. Over 16 years later I still get that same faster than the speed of light while frozen in time feeling when I see the Manglers or even just put on one of their records.

In any case, when I decided to do the Single of the Month series there were a lot of new bands playing in Pittsburgh who I was really excited about working with, but I also realized that this was an opportunity to finally do a record with one my all time favorite bands, so it is with great pleasure and years of fan-boydom that I’m proud to announce the release of the Mud City Manglers Single of the Month this Saturday at Mind Cure. Since I’ve said more than enough, check out this video and let the band explain themselves:

As promised I got some better photos taken of the new Mind Cure scarves, these are going fast, so if you want one act fast. They are $20 in the store $25 shipped in the USA.


and if for some reason you are still reading this and I didn’t loose you in my long winded reminiscences about the Mud City Manglers – here is something that I was shocked to discover that Manglers guitar player Ted Tarka still had – the photos that I took of them when I was a 17 year old aspiring photographer and the envelope that I shoved under Ted’s door at the Forbes Cottages.


Make sure you get one of these singles on Saturday, you won’t be disappointed – Keep Thrashin!

About mindcurerecords

Mind Cure Records opened in June 2010 in the Polish Hill neighborhood of Pittsburgh. Come visit us!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

