Fall Seems to Finally Be Here

photo (32)
I’m really excited to finally be able to unveil the latest Mind Cure Threads:
 Over a year in the making these scarves were manufactured by Ruffneck – the premiere manufacturing company for soccer scarves (football? footie? I make for a pretty terrible anglophile so I’ll stick with soccer). It was a little late in the winter season last year when I was admiring a friends St. Pauli scarf and got the bright idea that I should make club scarves of my very own – determined not to let this idea fall by the wayside I grabbed my calendar and marked it with reminder to get these made with enough time to be here for fall. These showed up in early September, but with the unseasonable summer weather we have been having I kept them under wraps until now. I promise that there are better product pictures to come, but I wanted to get these for sale as soon as possible. These are $20 in the store, $25 shipped in the USA. I would act fast because they are selling really fast!
Now on to why we are all really here – the music. There are two new records to tell you all about – the upcoming Single of the Month and the next Mind Cure reissue. Next in line for our monthly singles – this one being the 5th already(!) – is a band who I have loved for (and this is mathematically true) most of my life – The Mud City Manglers. It has been a long time dream to work with the Manglers and their no frills, no bullshit brand of Rock and Roll, and I am very proud of the result – their single is an absolute smoker, so don’t sleep on it. Keep your eyes peeled for their video which will hit the web next week.

In the reissue department the next Mind Cure LP from Savage Amused is almost complete. In the last few weeks I have spent a lot of time listening to the test pressings, the more I listen to this record the more it blows my mind and the more it confuses me. This is one of the least “Pittsburgh Sounding” records that I have heard from Pittsburgh. At one moment sounding like Pushead-approved-insanity in the vein of G.I.S.M., Zouo or GAUZE and in the next it sounds like American standards like The Dead Kennedys or Naked Raygun with out ever missing a beat or sounding mismatched. This a record that has to be heard to be believed. In fact, if you haven’t already check out the remastered opening track of the LP here.

There are also tons of great LPs that have been hitting the bins this week and will continue through the weekend – many from my personal collection, so stop on by. In the mean time have a great weekend and Keep Thrashin!

About mindcurerecords

Mind Cure Records opened in June 2010 in the Polish Hill neighborhood of Pittsburgh. Come visit us!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

